Time Machine

For Heidi

I watch you play adult in high-rise apartments-
Paying bills, folding laundry, loading the dishwasher,
In Louboutin heels and tailored blazers,
Drinking morning coffees in kitchens with marble backdrops.

But your heart still pauses at girlish intricacies-
Dream catchers from the market, wooden musical boxes, Parisian pink accents.
The entire Harry Potter series is alongside bank statements,
And there is a teddy bear in the corner.

We are a sea away from our parents, from home.
I flew to your place from mine, but there is something unfamiliar
About the way the air is void of our childhood;
There are no long-forgotten memories that jump from these surroundings,
Nothing that makes us say,
“Remember that time when…?”

But we do the same things anyway;
Drive to the cinemas for a Disney remake,
Succumb to nostalgia, and spend the night watching originals,
(Even though we both know better than happily ever afters now).

You have work early the next morning, and I have a flight to catch,
So we stay up later than we should,
Listening to each other’s stories like a good novel we just can’t put down,
Words tumbling from our mouths the way we used to roll down grassy hills;
This is a type of effervescence no technology can ever convey.

I tell you about a laughter I save for moments like these,
For when happiness is this pure, this distilled, this sacred.
I want to run to the scientists and announce that somehow we’ve done it – we’ve travelled back in time,
For how else do you explain the way we can sit here as adults
But, in every other way, be so completely and wonderfully,
Children?

46 thoughts on “Time Machine

  1. inkgirlandwords says:

    I loooooove it! Absolutely lovely. Favorite lines:
    “The entire Harry Potter series is alongside bank statements,”
    and
    “Drive to the cinemas for a Disney remake,
    Succumb to nostalgia, and spend the night watching originals,
    (Even though we both know better than happily ever afters now).”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pennygadd51 says:

    Oh, that’s wonderful!
    That’s not a skim through and click ‘like’; that’s a read once. Think. Read again. Click ‘like’. Print out a copy. And read again.
    Oh, wow! That’s lovely!
    And I can’t tell you how delighted I am to discover that you do happy so well!
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heartbeatingwings says:

      Thank you! I wrote this after visiting my sister recently. We’ve both moved out now, and this was our first time being away from home together, leading separate lives. It was such a unique yet lovely experience that I just had to write about it. Glad you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. LuAnne Holder says:

    Such an engaging description of the special relationship of siblings. My twenty-something daughter came in for a visit last weekend. She moved out about 8 years ago so these visits are special. I love that we can be adult friends now and still share the joys of her childhood. This post made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heartbeatingwings says:

      Thank you for sharing your story! I wrote this for my sister after visiting her for the first time since we both moved out – it was truly a unique experience. Your relationship with your daughter sounds truly beautiful, and the description is vaguely familiar of what I experience with my mother when I visit home these days 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

