Celestial

It is said that to write a letter to the moon, you have to fold it 42 times.
I have written letters that have been folded 43, 50 times, just to be safe-
Telling it how we fell asleep counting stars, until numbers lost meaning;
Drank in the moonlight until we were but intoxicated on lustre.

I should think that if I could, I’d tip the entire world upside down, just so I could live in the sky.
And maybe you’d join me, because that way, we’d be able to sleep in the crescent of the moon, and orbit planets until we were dizzy with rapture;
Use stars to skip across galaxies, and chase shooting stars until weΒ found the very boundaries of the universe.

Does the moon know, that time and time again, I find myself scaling trees,
Believing naively that if I conquered the highest one, I’d be able to touch the sky.
And though I grip at trunks with blistered palms,
More often than not, I found myself back at its roots,
Nursing Earth-kissed bruises and twig-drawn scratches.

And so I ask the moon one last time-
Why is it that I can’t find my balance?
And that’s when I hear it whisper,
Its voice carried on wisps of evening wind,

My sweet child, don’t you ever be deceived into believing you lost your footing.
No, if others ever ask you, you tell them you were simply swept off your feet
By this feeling I can only describe as eternity.

46 thoughts on “Celestial

  1. inkgirlandwords says:

    Does the moon know, that time and time again, I find myself scaling trees,
    Believing naively that if I conquered the highest one, I’d be able to touch the sky.
    And though I grip at trunks with blistered palms,
    More often than not, I found myself back at its roots,
    Nursing Earth-kissed bruises and twig-drawn scratches.
    (Waaaaaaaaah, sobs. It’s too much, it’s too beautiful *sniffles*)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. delicatelysad says:

    This made me feel so deeply! I’m really inspired by your poetry. I’ve just started my blog, but I have a whole folder of writing to post! Hope you can check it out sometime once I’m used to blogging πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      • Heartbeatingwings says:

        Thanks for that – not sure why the link I had before was ‘delicatelyblog.wordpress.com’.
        Just had a quick look at your work – it’s lovely! I think it fits so perfectly with your name ‘Delicately Sad’ – there’s something so heartbreaking about your words, but at the same time it’s so beautiful. Keep writing – I look forward to what you come up with in the future!

        Like

Leave a Reply

