Scattered

I chased you, like a child chases a balloon,
Except you’re not a balloon, and I grew up years ago.
But somehow, this game that we’re playing is way beyond my years.
Last time we went to the beach,
You left a trail of footprints in the sand.
And I, not knowing better, followed in your footsteps.

Europe snatched a day away from us,
But gave it back when we returned, like a bond.
Will you return the years I gave to you?

You didn’t know how much of a basket case I was.
The only baskets you knew of, were the ones you shot at from the three-point line.
And darling, you wish I was as neatly woven together as those baskets.

So we brewed tea with our tears;
Two sugars please, maybe then we won’t taste the bitterness.
You see, you didn’t think it through,
The night you smashed my favourite perfume,
Because I left the very next day, but your room smelled like Chanel No. 5 for months to come.

We’re just playthings in a kaleidoscope;
Colourful and bright, but trapped and too often shaken,
So the ringback tone I hear when I call you,
Will be the music accompanying me on a cold winter’s night.

People say everything in the world can be split into two groups;
I think we took that meaning too literally.

9 thoughts on “Scattered

  1. thelady302 says:

    Truly beautiful, specially the lines –
    “We’re just playthings in a kaleidoscope;

    Colourful and bright, but trapped and too often shaken,

    So the ringback tone I hear when I call you,

    Will be the music accompanying me on a cold winter’s night.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

